GOVERNOR'S COMMITTEE ON POLLINATOR PROTECTION MEETING MINUTES

Thursday, June 8, 2017 Cargill Building- University of Minnesota 1500 Gortner Ave., St. Paul, MN 55108

Governor's Committee on Pollinator Protection Members present: Erika Bailey-Johnson, Jim Calkins, Steve Ellis, Sarah Foltz Jordan, Lex Horan, Bob Koch, Dan MacSwain, Kevin Paap, Erin Rupp, Dan Schutte, Marla Spivak, Ted Suss, Brian Thalmann, Yao Yang

I. Welcome, agenda review and introductions

II. Review and approval of meeting notes

III. Updates and Group Discussion

Will Seuffert updated the Committee on the status of the MnDOT Roadsides Task Force and asked the group who would be interested in serving on this task force. Dan MacSwain, Kevin Paap, Erin Rupp, and Brian Thalmann expressed interest. Tina Markeson will provide more information on this task force at the next Governor's Committee meeting on July 20.

Mr. Seuffert also explained that Governor Dayton has requested that the Committee develop recommendations by the end of the year. The Committee will discuss preliminary proposals at the July 20 meeting.

Each member of the Committee spent five minutes discussing their background and their definitions of success for the Governor's Committee. A common theme running through these visions for success was the desire for actionable and sustainable proposals.

IV. Adjourn

The Committee adjourned to tour the U of M Bee Lab before joining the Environmental Quality Board meeting in the afternoon.